Bikes | Features | Events | Books | Tech | Magazine | About | Messages | Classified | Links

18th July 2012

1000 Bikes Show, South Africa
Home -> Events -> Ride and Event Reports ->

The UK isn't the only place to hold a festival of a thousand bikes. The Classic Motorcycle Club in South Africa also host a major motorcycling meet each summer...

A crowd of more than 10,000 people visited the 1000 Bike Show at Germiston near Johannesburg in July 2012. This is believed to be the largest crowd in the 30 year history of this annual event, which was staged for the first time in 1983. The 2012 show, organised by the Classic Motorcycle Club (CMC), featured more than 400 classic and modern motorcycles in a huge marquee - the biggest yet used for this event - and many more machines were exhibited in the outside area. There were also more than 50 stalls adjacent to the marquee selling a wide variety of products including motorcycling clothing and accessories.

Kevin Robertson with his 1935 Excelsior Manxman 250... Kevin Robertson took three awards, including best classic on show, with his 1935 Excelsior Manxman 250

Many of the huge crowd of visitors also came on motorcycles or trikes which provided a wonderfully interesting show for enthusiasts. On the Saturday the motorcycles overflowed the football field.

Blue skies! Shadows! Not England, then... The 2012 South African 1000 Bike Show drew more than 10,000 visitors over two days

There was a wide variety of motorcycles on display in the covered area, ranging from the oldest machine in South Africa, Peter Hall's 1903 Buchet 500 to the latest models in the ever-expanding Triumph range, which made up a large display that was a mix of nostalgic old Triumphs and the new range.

Cheesey Grins!... Interested show visitor Johan van Zyl, the President and CEO of Toyota SA, tries out Ian Groat's Matchless G50 'Wagon Wheels' racer with Ian looking on

Another veteran motorcycle of interest was a 1914 Humber 750 that has had three owners but never been rebuilt. However, it had been fitted with a new wooden brake block for the rear wheel in recent times! Retiring CMC chairman, Pierre Cronje, was particularly proud of his restored 1939 Triumph Speed Twin, which took two runner-up awards at its first appearance on a show.

Winning Awards!... This Triumph Speed Twin, belonging to retiring chairman of the Classic Motorcycle Club, Pierre Cronje, won two awards in its first show

One keen classic motorcyclist whose cup of success is overflowing this year is Kevin Robertson, winner of the DJ Rally staged between Durban and Johannesburg earlier this year. Although a Velocette man, his multiple successes at the 1000 Bike Show came thanks to his immaculate 1935 Excelsior Manxman 250. It was adjudged Best Classic on Show, Best Post Vintage motorcycle (up to 1945) and Best Past Winner.

Matching Hats!... This scarce 1976 rotary-engined Suzuki RE5, belonging to Alwin Stevenson, was a big hit when it was coaxed into life

The focus was not only on the classic bikes as there was also a Concours d'Elegance competition for customised motorcycles on the Saturday. Best on Show in this category was Jan Olivier's 2011 Suzuki Hayabusa.

Perfect Patina!... An interested visitor studies H Watermeyer's 1914 Humber which has had three owners but has not been restored or rebuilt in almost 100 years
Classic Repairables on now...

Full Results: Classic Concours d'Elegance

  • Best on Show, Best Past Winner and Best Post Vintage (up to 1945): Kevin Robertson (1935 Excelsior Manxman)
  • Best Stand: Harley Davidson Johannesburg
  • Ladies Choice: Richard Hulsbos (1936 BMW R5)
  • Best Newcomer: Alan Green (1971 Suzuki AC50)
  • Best Past Winner: Kevin Robertson (1935 Excelsior Manxman)
  • Best Classic from 1946 to 1960: Greg van der Merwe (1956 Jawa CZ174)
  • Best Post Classic from 1961 to 1970: Bruce Thomas (1969 Triumph Tiger 500)
  • Best New Era: Richard Salt (1972 Norton Commando)
  • Best Unrestored: Tyrone Edwards: (1984 Kawasaki KR250)
  • Most Authentic Classic: Mike Longley (1957 BSA Gold Star)
  • Most Authentic Post Classic: Richard Salt (1957 Norton Dominator)
  • Best Combination: Tony Dodsworth (1979 Moto Guzzi)
  • Best DJ Run: Rick Lewis (1932 Ariel Square Four)
  • Best Road Racing Competition: Ian Groat (1961 Norton Manx 350)
  • Best Off Road: Mike Payne (Husqvarna 430)
  • Best Military: Chris Boswell (1945 BSA M20)
  • Best AMC: Edgar Lewis (1955 Matchless G80S)
  • Best Ariel: Neville Smith (Ariel Red Hunter)
  • Best BMW: Richard Hulsbos (1936 BMW R5)
  • Best Bridgestone: Johnny Barnes (Bridgestone 175 DT)
  • Best BSA: Mike Longley (1957 BSA DBD34 GS)
  • Best Harley Davidson: Harry Kirton (Harley Davidson)
  • Best Honda: Howard Stafford (1980 Honda CB550K)
  • Best Italian: John Wakeling (Moto Guzzi)
  • Best Kawasaki: Tyrone Edwards (1985 Kawasaki KR250)
  • Best Jawa: Greg van der Merwe (1956 Jawa CZ175)
  • Best Norton: Richard Salt (1972 Norton Commando)
  • Best Puch: Bob Hooper (1962 Puch 250 SGS)
  • Best Royal Enfield: Dean Allan (Royal Enfield)
  • Best Suzuki: Alan Green (1971 Suzuki AC50)
  • Best Triumph: Bruce Thomas (1969 Triumph Tiger 500)
  • Best Velocette: Des Burton (Velocette Venom)
  • Best Yamaha: E Barendse (1974 Yamaha MR50)
  • Best Zundapp: Jacques Snyman (1974 Zundapp Water Cooled)
  • Best HMC: Dion de Beer (1955 Royal Enfield Bullet)
  • Best Scooter: John Porter (1951 Lambretta LD125)

    Main in orange shirt is unimpressed... The Vintage Motorcycle Club's 1911 Precision 600 was another old machine that drew many admiring glances

    Results for Customised Concours d'Elegance

  • Best on Show: Jan Olivier (2011 Suzuki Hayabusa)
  • Best Paintwork: Stefan Crause (1980 Kawasaki 1300)
  • Best Engineering: Jan Olivier (2011 Suzuki Hayabusa)
  • Best Standard: Jacques Snyman (1992 Gilera)
  • Best Street Modified: Quintin Claasen (1980 Suzuki Katana Turbo)
  • Best Street Fighter: Bertus (1974 Suzuki GT750)
  • Best Cruiser: Ben van der Merwe (2007 Suzuki M109R)
  • Best Custom: Jan Olivier (2011 Suzuki Hayabusa)
  • Best Trike: Ricky Bianco (2006 Buell Trike)
  • Best Classic: Tyrone Edwards (1980 Suzuki GS1000S)
  • Best Harley Davidson: Fergus McLoskey (2004 Harley Davidson Soft Tail)
  • Best Chopper: Ricky Bianco (2006 Buell)
  • Bobber: Ginger, Marcus, Donovan (1969 Triumph)

    Winner of the Puzey Storm lucky ticket competition: Peter Lichfield



  • Like this page? Share it with these buttons:


    Classic Projects on Right Now...


    Like what you see here? Then help to make even better

    Back to the Rides menu...

    Bikes | Opinion | Events | News | Books | Tech | About | Messages | Classified | Directory

    RedLeg Interactive Media

    2002/2005 The Cosmic Motorcycle Co. Ltd / Redleg Interactive Media

    You may download pages from this site for your private use. No other reproduction, re-publication, re-transmission or other re-distribution of any part of this site in any medium is permitted except with the written consent of the copyright owner or in accordance with the provisions of the Copyright, Designs and Patents Act 1988.